Developing
The release does not say whether Braze stays standalone, how the deal is financed, the premium over the prior share price or termination fee size.

In 60 seconds
- Braze Class A holders receive $47.50 a share in cash; the deal needs Braze shareholder approval and regulatory clearance.
- Braze reported $738.2 million in fiscal 2026 revenue, up 24%, with about 2,770 customers including 349 with ARR of $500,000 or more.
- PPC Land calculates a price of about 7.7x revenue and about 27% below Braze's $65 IPO price from November 2021.
- Braze, Salesforce and Adobe were the three Leaders in Gartner's 2025 Magic Quadrant for Multichannel Marketing Hubs.
Impact Layer
- What changed
- Salesforce is buying one of the largest independent customer engagement platforms.
- Why it matters
- It would give Salesforce a real-time messaging engine to pair with Marketing Cloud, Data 360 and Agentforce, and changes options for Braze customers.
- Who is affected
- Braze and Salesforce customers, and marketers choosing engagement and marketing automation platforms.
- Martech stack area
- CRM, Marketing Automation
- Stack impact
- If you use Braze, ask for contract and roadmap commitments in writing; if you use Salesforce Marketing Cloud, ask where journey orchestration will live.
- Business impact
- High Based on PPC Land's reading of Salesforce's release. The premium over the pre-announcement price, financing, termination fee, treatment of Class B shares, standalone status, customer pricing and roadmap, and reviewing jurisdictions are not stated.
- Related technologies
- Related vendors
- What to watch
- Shareholder and regulatory approvals, the product roadmap and any customer pricing changes.
Salesforce announced on October 20, 2026 a definitive agreement to buy Braze, the New York customer engagement platform, according to PPC Land.
Deal terms
- Enterprise value of about $5.66 billion; Braze Class A holders receive $47.50 a share in cash.
- The deal needs Braze shareholder approval and regulatory clearance.
- Closing is expected in Salesforce’s fiscal 2028, which begins February 1, 2027, so no sooner than February 2027.
- J.P. Morgan advises Salesforce and Qatalyst Partners advises Braze.
Braze figures
- $738.2 million in fiscal 2026 revenue, up 24%.
- About 2,770 customers, including 349 with ARR of $500,000 or more.
- PPC Land’s calculation: about 7.7x revenue and about 27% below Braze’s $65 IPO price (November 2021).
Quotes
Patrick Stokes of Salesforce: “Braze was built to turn live customer behavior into personalized engagement at scale.” Braze CEO Bill Magnuson: “Salesforce shares our commitment to marketers.”
Not stated
The premium over Braze’s pre-announcement price, financing, the termination fee, Class B treatment, whether Braze will remain a standalone product or merge into Marketing Cloud, customer pricing and roadmap, and founder retention terms.
Our read
Plans are not outcomes. Customers should ask for commitments in writing and watch which product owns journey orchestration.
Sources
- PPC Land: Salesforce agrees to buy Braze for $5.66bn in cash (opens in a new tab)
Source for the deal terms, Braze figures, quotes and what is not stated.
