Advertising

Thrad opens a $1 million fund of advertiser spend for AI chat apps testing in-chat ads

Developing

"Up to $1 million" is a ceiling; revenue share, number of apps and measurement were not disclosed.

A person reading messages on a smartphone
Photo: Reading the smartphone messages instead of the book (35225380945) by Pedro Ribeiro Simões from Lisboa, Portugal, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

In 60 seconds

  • Thrad committed up to $1 million in advertiser spend, double the $500,000 of its December 2025 first round.
  • No equity or cash grant is paid; selected apps receive campaign budgets that run in their chat interfaces.
  • Thrad says it reaches over one billion users monthly and works with Fortune 500 brands; neither claim is verified or named.
  • The release does not give revenue share, number of apps, program end date or brand-safety measurement.

Impact Layer

What changed
A third-party demand source is subsidising ad supply inside smaller AI chat apps.
Why it matters
Small AI apps face high model costs, and in-chat ads are one way to pay; advertisers will need to understand disclosure and brand safety there.
Who is affected
Developers of consumer AI apps, advertisers testing chat placements and brand-safety teams.
Martech stack area
AI, Advertising
Stack impact
If you test in-chat ads, ask for placement disclosure, category controls and third-party verification before you commit budget.
Business impact
Low Based on PPC Land's report of a Thrad announcement and outreach email. Performance claims come from Thrad and a partner, without data.
What to watch
Which apps join, what disclosure label users see, and whether independent verification covers the placements.

Thrad, a San Francisco company that places sponsored messages inside AI chat conversations, opened Monetization Fund II on October 15, 2026, according to PPC Land.

How the fund works

  • It commits up to $1 million in advertiser spend to consumer AI apps and publishers through Thrad’s demand-side platform.
  • No equity changes hands and no cash grant is paid; selected apps receive campaign budgets that run inside their chat interfaces.
  • Applications are accepted on a rolling basis, judged on potential ad revenue and an established user base.
  • Round one launched in December 2025 with $500,000.

Quotes

CEO Andrea Tortella said that as AI services scale, “costs add up quickly”, and that many users will not pay for a subscription. A publisher partner, Andrea Zanon of Daimon, said the ads fit “naturally into the context of each conversation”.

Unverified claims

Thrad says it reaches more than one billion users monthly and works with Fortune 500 brands, without naming any. Ads are described as contextual, with disclosure so users can tell them apart from organic answers.

Not stated

Number of apps in round one, per-app allocation, revenue share, program end date, the form of the disclosure label, and any third-party viewability or brand-safety measurement.

Our read

This is a supply-side incentive. Before buying, ask what the user sees, who verifies it and what you pay.

Sources

  1. PPC Land: Thrad commits $1m in ad spend to AI chat apps testing in-chat ads (opens in a new tab) News report ·

    Source for the fund terms, quotes, company claims and gaps.

Get MarTech Roundup in your inbox

What changed in marketing technology, why it matters, and what to do next.

We will email you to confirm. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Related stories