Developing
The closing date, comment period end and the deal value measure used by the FTC are not stated.

In 60 seconds
- The vote was 2-0 (Chairman Andrew Ferguson and Mark Meador); a 30-day public comment period follows before the order is final.
- The remedy is behavioural, with no divestiture: LiveRamp must serve all US customers on neutral, non-discriminatory terms and Publicis may not access or use LiveRamp customer data, including to train AI models.
- Independent SOC-2 audits run every six months for two years after closing, then annually; customers may audit once a year at their own expense.
- The order lasts five years from issuance; customer contracts need an addendum and notice within 60 days.
Impact Layer
- What changed
- A major agency group's purchase of a data connectivity firm is cleared with conditions.
- Why it matters
- LiveRamp supplies identity infrastructure to Publicis' competitors, so neutrality and data access rules decide whether rivals can keep using it.
- Who is affected
- Agencies, brands, publishers and data teams that use LiveRamp.
- Martech stack area
- Advertising, Data
- Stack impact
- If you use LiveRamp, read the contract addendum when notified and keep the audit rights in mind.
- Business impact
- High Based on PPC Land's reading of FTC documents. The closing date, comment-period end, any monitor trustee and the product roadmap commitment (in the addendum only) are not stated; PPC Land notes earlier reports valued the equity at $2.5 billion.
- Related technologies
- What to watch
- The comment period, closing and first audit reports.
On October 19, 2026 the FTC accepted a proposed consent order letting Publicis Groupe buy LiveRamp Holdings, according to PPC Land. The vote was 2-0, and a 30-day public comment period follows before the order is final.
Price
The FTC cites $2.2 billion. PPC Land’s earlier reporting put equity value at $2.5 billion ($38.50 a share) and enterprise value at $2.167 billion; the FTC figure appears to match enterprise value, though the documents do not say.
The remedy
- The deal is not blocked and nothing is divested; the remedy is behavioural.
- LiveRamp must serve all US customers on neutral, non-discriminatory terms, with “commercially neutral provider” as the guiding principle.
- Publicis may not access or use LiveRamp customer data, including to train AI models.
- Independent SOC-2 audits every six months for two years after closing, then annually; customers may audit once a year at their own expense.
- Every customer contract must be amended with an addendum, and customers notified within 60 days of issuance. Disputes go to third-party mediation. The order lasts five years from issuance.
The FTC’s concern
The combination would violate Section 7 of the Clayton Act by enabling client foreclosure, degraded access for rivals and misuse of rivals’ sensitive data. The companies admit no violation.
Not stated
The closing date, the comment period’s end, any monitor trustee, any Epsilon-specific obligation and why the order and the addendum use different start dates.
Our read
Neutrality enforced by audits is the key mechanism. Watch the first audit reports.
Sources
- PPC Land: Publicis faces five years of FTC oversight to close $2.2bn LiveRamp deal (opens in a new tab)
Source for the order's terms, vote, figures and what is not stated.
